Women's College, Calcutta

NAAC accredited with 'B++'

P-29, Kshirode Vidyavinode Avenue,Kolkata - 700003


Alumni Association

Womens' College, Calcutta Alumni Association, `Chirantani' has as its avowed purpose the bringing together of former students and college into a vibrant interactive relationship. It also aspires to provide aid, financial or medical, to former as well as present students.

Women’s College, Calcutta is the cradle of leadership and well recognized for nurturing talent. Since its inception, it has carved a unique niche for itself. It is the alma mater of a phenomenally large number of eminent women who have not just excelled themselves in diverse professions but reached the pinnacle of success. Our college is taking an initiative to bring these people together with the help of this association.

Women’s College Calcutta has launched its Alumni Association, Chirantani, as per the UGC requirement and recommendations with its first meeting of the executive committee held on 3rd September, 2020. The Alumni Association of the college has one executive committee and one general body.


The Executive Committee

The executive committee of the alumni association is constituted with one representative from each department of the college. The executive committee with regular meetings develops the objectives, plans, policy, functions and action plans of the alumni association.


The present executive committee structure is as follows -

1. President: Mahmuda Khanam, Alumnus, Department of Hindi

2. Vice President: Debanjana Sadhukhan, Alumnus, Department of Bengali

3. Vice President: Moumita Das Basak, Alumnus, Department of History

4. General Secretary: Poulami Chakraborty, Alumnus, Department of Sociology

5. Ast. Secretary (Events): Suchitra Maji, Alumnus, Department of Philosophy & Didhiti Koley, Alumnus, Department of Music

6. Ast. Secretary (Database): Tanni Bhattacharya, Alumnus, Department of Economics

7. Ast. Secretary (Printing & Publishing): Rashmita Dey, Alumnus, Department of Psychology

8. Ast. Secretary (Communication & PR): Ahana Chowdhury, Alumnus, Department of Journalism & Mass Communication

9. Treasurer: Ishani Bhowmick Sarkar, Alumnus, Department of Education

10. Joint Treasurer: Saheli Ghosh, Alumnus, Department of Political Science

11. Member: Sayantika Dutta, Alumnus, Department of Chemistry

12. Member: Swapna Sil Sharma, Alumnus, Department of Sanskrit

13. Member: Simanti Chandra, Alumnus, Department of Food & Nutrition

14. Member: Subhra Singha, Alumnus, Department of Geography

15. Member: Mrittika Das, Alumnus, Department of English

16. Member: Ashima Dey, Alumnus, Department of Philosophy


General Body

All the former students of the college are the general body members of Alumni Association of the college.



  • Developing and maintaining regular alumni database
  • Publishing magazines and newsletters
  • Organizing various cultural events
  • Organizing training programmes for the present students of the college
  • Developing and maintaining association fund
  • Celebrate Alumni Day
  • Organize Annual Reunion
  • Maintaining alumni network
  • Maintaining alumni association’s social media group
  • Arranging various talks, seminars, lectures and workshops for the present students of the college
  • Counseling and helping the present students for internships, placements and entrepreneurship
  • Extending support in various ways to the former students of the college
  • During the pandemic providing assistance to COVID-19 task force of the college, as per UGC guideline

Interested alumnus for active participation in Alumni Association may contact their departmental faculty or the present alumni representative of the respective department.